Date(s) - 30th June 2013
12:00 am

There was a hold up approving one of the other new NEDs, so this has been a while getting out. I have been to a board meeting and had an induction, a wonderful outfit to be part of and loads of potential.


Text of the press release:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Wendy Barnes, Christine Tacon, David Burridge and Sir John Beddington as Non-Executive Directors. They will join Paul Rew (Non-Executive Director), David Curley (Shareholder Executive Advisor) and the senior Met Office Executives in comprising the Met Office Board.

The new Non-Executive Directors bring a wide range of knowledge and expertise that will help the Met Office meet its corporate plan objectives. They will help support us in the provision of weather and climate services that help Government, the public and commercial customers achieve their goals through enabling protection, increasing prosperity and improving well-being. I am very much looking forward to working with the new Board, utilising the members’ diverse range of skills and experience to best meet the challenges posed by climate, weather and the international economic situation in the coming years.

Chief Executive John Hirst has commented: “It’s really good that we have been able to attract such high calibre people. I am confident that the new Board composition will provide strong support and constructive challenge to the Executive.”

It is with great thanks that I mark the retirement of Sir Brian Hoskins and Mike Goodfellow for the support, guidance and intelligent advice they have contributed to the Met Office Board over the years and wish them both all the best for the future.

Greg Clarke
Met Office Chairman